Just another WordPress.com weblog

Not Actually A Review of Transatlantic’s Whirld Tour 2010 – Live From Sheperd’s Bush Empire DVD

I wanted to write a review of this DVD. I really did. I tried more than once to get it started. Every time I began writing though, I realized that I wasn’t saying anything that I didn’t already say in my review of the Whirlwind album or their tour stop here in NYC. It kept coming back to the basics: The band is awesome, the new music is pretty good, and their live shows are highly enjoyable.

I liked the DVD a lot, and any fan of Transatlantic will enjoy it as well. Pick it up! (You should probably do so here).

There are the few things I will say specifically about the DVD:

  • The vocals are the best they’ve ever been in the band. They added some new harmonies for the tour, and each new part definitely enhances the total package. Pete Trewavas and Mike Portnoy both sound significantly better than they did on the last DVD, and of course the addition of Daniel Gildenlow as a touring member just brings the performance to the next level. Of course Neil and Roine are still great. All around a great vocal performance from everyone on stage.
  • Speaking of Daniel and Pete, they are, in my opinion, the highlights of the DVD. Daniel brings that energy and enthusiasm to the stage that is so often lacking in the live performances of prog bands, and I’m extremely thankful that so much of him made it onto the DVD. Pete is notable for the great contrast between his presence on the last DVD and this one. He’s more animated, his parts stand out more (more an attribute of the song writing than his performance I suppose), and he handles a much larger portion of the vocal work, doing a damn good job with it. His performance here makes me wish I didn’t hate Marillion!
  • The special features are…ok. Buy the DVD for the concert.

Oh, also, I’m on the DVD, look!

I’m actually that blurry and poorly lit in real life

Again, I wish I had more to say about this, but there’s just very little else I can say that wouldn’t be repeating my last two posts about The Whirlwind. So check out the DVD, support the band, and maybe they’ll be motivated to take less than 9 years to get back together this time. I hear Portnoy will have some free time! (bad joke, sorry)

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Not Actually A Review of Transatlantic’s Whirld Tour 2010 – Live From Sheperd’s Bush Empire DVD « A Progressive Rock Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Agencement symbiotique musico-littéraire « Mémos pour Jim

  3. Wow – you should work for the FBI with those ID skillz! 🙂

    December 19, 2010 at 8:05 pm

  4. Saw Mike and Neil in Seattle as part of Neil’s new CD…
    Huge band, including an ex band member, Randy George, on bass (can’t fault him for leaving, love was in the air)…
    They were great, Neil’s songwriting is truly something to see…
    I’m sure the Transatlantic Cd is just as good…

    August 29, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Leave a Reply

